It’s been exactly one month since I quit my job to embark on my latest adventure -starting an ethical business out of my own home. It’s called Cambio Market, an online shop selling socially responsible and handcrafted products sourced from ethical businesses around the world. We just launched this week.

The last month has been a whirlwind. It’s no lie when people say starting a business takes over your life. I sometimes start work at 8AM and don’t stop until midnight, occasionally finding time in there to pound out a blog post or two (though this week has been a poor example of that *sad face*).

IMG_1617 (1)
Cambio Market is an online shop selling socially responsible and positive impact products from around the world. Good Paper handcrafted cards are available in our store.

Over the last four weeks, we’ve set up our social media channels, met with various suppliers (all positive impact businesses), ordered our initial batch of products, developed all of our web copy and content from scratch, took product photos, set up our Shopify store and website, and continue to source new suppliers. I also spent a whole night figuring out packaging – strips of ribbon and kraft paper strewn across our living room floor. We’re pretty happy with how our initial experiment turned out though 🙂

IMG_1662 copy
Experimenting with various packaging options. Our apartment still has scraps of ribbon and kraft paper scattered about.

For the month of October, we’ll be busy with marketing and trying to drive sales. We’ve also just placed orders with two new suppliers and hope to receive their product before end of October, just in time for the November/December peak. We’ll be prepping our inventory and re-marketing all of our content for the holiday season, reaching out to bloggers and influencers to get our products out there. We’ve also got more shipping and logistics stuff to figure out, and there’s the endless work on social media and communications. I also hope to continue blogging about careers and social entrepreneurship, Cambio Market, etc. The list goes on and on…

Despite all the extra work, added pressure, and basically zero income right now, I am so blissfully happy. Working 9-to-5, somehow I always felt I was waiting for something – waiting for the day to be over, for the weekend to start, anticipating my next raise – basically, waiting for my life to begin. With Cambio Market, I wake up early and stay up late because I don’t want the day to be over. I don’t want the weekend to start because that’s the time I should “relax and rest” instead of working. The difference in perspective changes you. I only wish everyone could be this happy and excited about their jobs.

So when I think about the future, I’m filled with excitement but I’m also filled with  A LOT of fear – all. the. time. My good friend told me, “if you’re not afraid, you’re not driving fast enough.” I have to agree.

But where am I driving to, exactly? I couldn’t tell you.

I’m just here to chronicle the journey.

This is a post inspired from Day 20 of course Writing 101: The Future through Blogging U

18 thoughts on “One month in: What I’ve been up to since I quit my job

    1. Thanks for your message and encouragement, Alice! Yes! Most of our promotion is via social media ( mainly Facebook and Instagram if you search “Cambio Market”) and we plan to do a lot more in the coming weeks 🙂 We did look into Etsy but they require you handmake the products yourselves. Our products ARE handmade but since we source them from other organizations, we wouldn’t be allowed to re-sell on Etsy. If you have any insight at all, would LOVE to hear it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No insight into Etsy but it makes sense. What you could consider is having a little merchandise stand in other locally owned stores. This way you can get the word out about your products?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. For sure 🙂 That’s a definite possibility for the future, as well as participating in handcraft or fair trade shows or even hosting trunk shows (private selling parties hosted in people’s homes). So many different possibilities. Thanks so much for your insight, Alice!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. That sounds very exciting to me. It’s wonderful to be part of something you really believe in – I think you’ve found a way to use your talents wisely. Wishing you lots of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

