This is a post inspired from Day 5 of course Writing 101: Let Social Media Inspire You through Blogging U

We’re cautious creatures, us humans. By nature, we’re risk-averse and when presented with opportunities, our minds automatically flit back and forth between the positives and the number of things that could drastically go wrong. How many times have you heard people say (or said yourself), “you’re so lucky. I would love to be doing something like that.”

As an entrepreneur, there’s nothing – absolutely nothing – that drives me just completely crazy more than that phrase. When I first told someone at work I was resigning to start my own business and return to school part-time, she actually said to me, “wow, you’re SO lucky!” Umm, no. Luck, by definition, means you had no control over the situation. Choice, decision, action – these are all verbs. After months of deliberation, I decided to forego the safety of a salary, a stable routine, a safe career path. I actively and willingly worked 18 hour days to set up the foundation for a business. I contacted entrepreneurs and industry professionals weeks in advance to meet them for coffee and learn as much as I could. Luck always has its time and place, but here it had no part to play.

When you’re watching from afar, it’s easy to see what people are doing and think, “wow, that’s amazing. I could never do anything like that.” Our brains are instinctively tuned in to develop all these theories of reasons why we shouldn’t do something, but we have to make the conscious decision to act, to choose, to decide. Even something as simple as dedicating 10 minutes a day to pursue your passion is a step – a small one but with a big footprint. All overnight successes take years in the making.

Before quitting my job, I met with a woman who left her 9-to-5 job years ago and has since launched two of her own businesses. When I asked her about her doubts early on, she answered:

“Once I quit, I just knew there were no other options. I knew I had to be resourceful and smart and hard-working enough to make this work.

There was no alternative.”

7 thoughts on “The Cure for All Doubt

  1. This is a very inspiring post! You are so right to say that our brains auto-tune to tell us whywe shouldnt do something and how we will fail miserable when we do it! Once we pass that initial hurdle, then we know we have it in us to do what we set out to do! Otherwise we would not have chosen to take that path in the first place!
    Thank you so much for sharing this, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

